2023 Nobel Prize in Physics

We sincerely congratulate Prof. Agostini (Ohio State University), Prof. Krausz (Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics), and Prof. Anne L’Huillier (Lund University) for being awarded the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physics. The Nobel Committe has recognised their invaluable contributions for generating attosecond light pulses have opened exciting possibilities, allowing for the study and control of the electron dynamics in their natural time scale. 

As explained in the scientific background document published by the Nobel Committee, Prof. Mauro Nisoli collaborated closely with Prof. Krausz: “The path to isolated attosecond pulses required technical developments that Krausz explored with his research group in Vienna in collaboration with Mauro Nisoli’s group in Milan [21, 22]. The Milan–Vienna collaboration resulted in production of what were then the shortest pulses ever: 4.5 fs, using krypton filling a hollow fibre, and 5 fs with argon as the fibre-filling gas. The group in Milan had pioneered the technique of compressing a laser pulse using a gas-filled hollow core fibre. In Vienna, the Krausz group generated a broadened HHG spectrum with a cutoff at about 300 eV [22].”

At the Attosecond Research Center, we apply attosecond pulses for the investigation of electron dynamics in atoms, molecules and solids. We currently have joint projects with another of this year’s Laureates, Prof. Anne L’Huillier. Together with her group, we are studying the generation of high-order harmonics on long geometries.

We extend our congratulations to the three awardees and feel very honoured that the Nobel Committee has cited our review “R. Borrego-Varillas, M. Lucchini and M. Nisoli, Rep. Progr. Phys. 85, 066401 (2022)” to deepen the Laurates’ research: